Kate Vollmayer

Your Name: Kate Vollmayer 

Hometown: Madison Heights

Did you go to college? If so, tell us where and if you have a degree what is it?: Bachelor's from Eastern; Masters from Central; Masters in the works from OU

Tell us about your family: My husband Mike and I have a six year old daughter named Ella and an eight year old son named Vincent. They are wild and crazy just like their mother. We are a close family and love to travel during the summer. The kids are on two swim teams (Heart and NOW) and also participate in scouting. Mom likes it because she gets to eat lots of Girl Scout cookies while watching others work out in the pool. Mike is our neighborhood Macgyver, insect killer/collector and pretty much a jack of all trades. 

What kind of hobbies do you have? What do you like to do?: I love to cook, eat, read, bike, sleep, travel, do puzzles and decorate for Halloween. I wish I could get into something more crafty, but don't have much time these days. In the meantime, I'll just make modifying Barbies so they look like Monster High dolls my crafty hobby. 

Are you a graduate of Lamphere Schools?: Yes

How long have you worked at Lamphere?: Three weeks, but for some reason it feels more like three decades. 

What's your favorite thing about being a part of the Lamphere district?: My favorite thing about being a part of the Lamphere district is that I get to teach the students that are cut from the same cloth as me. I see myself in every student and am grateful that I have an opportunity to make a difference in their lives, as Lamphere did for mine.